PRSA Chapter Recognition Awards & Gala

PRSA Chapter Recognition Awards 

The PRSA Chapter Awards were established in 2021 to recognize the chapter’s most dedicated and service-oriented members. It was determined that recipients should be members in good standing of PRSA Orlando and live and contribute to the profession in the Central Florida area. Award recipients are nominated during the fall and recognized at the annual Chapter Recognition Awards Gala and Annual Meeting. Nominations for the awards, with the exception of the President’s Award for Distinguished Service, will be reviewed by a set of three judges from a sister chapter. Final selections are determined by the current PRSA Executive Board.

About the Awards: 

The President’s Award for Distinguished Service –The President’s Award recognizes up to (3) members who have gone above and beyond in service to PRSA Orlando’s membership in the past year.  Honorees are selected by the current chapter president based on criteria the criteria of providing outstanding leadership, extraordinary involvement or loyal support to the chapter .

Communicator to Watch – The Communicator to Watch award recognizes a PRSA Orlando member with no more than 10 years of experience who has demonstrated leadership qualities and has made significant contributions to their organization, the chapter and/or community while advancing the public relations and communications profession. The Communicator to Watch demonstrates strong professional capabilities, leadership qualities, service to the public relations community and respected character.

PR/Communications Advocate Award – The PR/Communications Advocate Award recognizes a public relations practitioner with more than 10 years of experience who represents the exceptional standards of practice in the Central Florida community and whose work and activities serve to advocate for and elevate the public relations or communications profession through service to PRSA, their clients or organization, or community involvement.

Frank R. Stansberry Ethics Award – The Frank R. Stansberry Ethics Award was created in 2005 and named after local public relations professional, teacher and mentor, Frank Stansberry, APR, Fellow PRSA. With a career spanning 30 years of public relations practice and 10 years of print media experience, Stansberry served as president of the PRSA Orlando Regional Chapter, chair of its Sunshine District, and as a member of its national board of directors. Stansberry’s career is highlighted by his outspoken advocacy for the highest ethical standards in business practice, and his dedication to public relations ethics has had a profound impact on thousands of young professionals while he served as a professor at the University of Central Florida and Rollins College.

The PRSA Orlando Frank R Stansberry Ethics Award recognizes a PRSA Orlando member who embodies the PRSA member code of ethics and works to educate, promote and guide others in the ethical practice of public relations. 

Geri Evans Lifetime Achievement Award – The Geri Evans Lifetime Achievement Award is named in honor of Geri Evans, APR, Fellow PRSA, an award-winning public relations professional, public speaker, writer, consultant, and educator. With more than 40 years of public relations practice, Evans has served in varying roles within PRSA for more than 16 years including eight years on the PRSA Orlando Regional Chapter board of directors and chapter president in 2003. She also served on the board of the Sunshine District as well as on three national committees before being elected to the PRSA national board for a three-year term in 2011. She was elected into the College of Fellows in 2014 and served as Chair of the College of Fellows in 2019.

The PRSA Orlando Geri Evans Lifetime Achievement Award honors a PRSA Orlando member who has 20 years or more of experience in a communications-related profession, played a vital role in the advancement of the PR profession, has been recognized for public relations excellence through numerous accolades and demonstrated service and exceptional leadership to PRSA throughout their career.

PRSA Chapter Recognition Awards Gala & Annual Meeting 

Join PRSA Orlando for an evening gala as we celebrate and recognize the talented professionals within our organization and confirm the 2024 chapter board. Keynote speaker Annetta Wilson will share how to “Unleash Your ‘STAR’ Power” with your communication.

Event Details: 

Date: Wednesday, November 8, 2023
Location: Winter Park Racquet Club
Time: 6:00 – 9:00 p.m.
Attire: Semi-formal
Register today

Keynote Speaker: Annetta Wilson, Speak With Ease Media Training & Success Coaching

“Unleash Your ‘STAR’ Power”

Does your communication illuminate and influence or fizzle out and fade? How do you break through the loud noise of the marketplace? Annetta will share how embracing your ‘STAR’ power helps you see who your competition is, and why differences are gold mines.

An award-winning journalist with more than three decades in the broadcast industry as a TV news anchor, reporter, producer and talk show host and writer turned media trainer and executive coach, Annetta helps individuals succeed with clear, concise and influential communication. Learn more about Annetta.

Sponsorship Opportunities:

PRSA Orlando’s 2023 Chapter Recognition Awards Gala & Annual Meeting attracts the region’s leading public relations professionals and industry leaders. We have a wide range of PRSA 2023 Gala Sponsorship Opportunities. Please contact Sponsorship Chair Mimi Flatley, APR at or (407) 885-1405 with any questions. Thank you to our current 2023 Chapter Recognition Awards Gala & Annual Meeting sponsors:

Ruby Presenting Sponsor

Sapphire Sponsors

2022 Chapter Award Winners

In December, the PRSA Orlando recognized the chapter’s most dedicated and service-oriented members as part of its annual chapter meeting and awards gala.

  • Communicator to Watch: Melissa Zayas Moreno, APR
  • PR/Communications Advocate: Laura Lord-Blackwell, APR
  • President’s Award for Distinguished Service: Mimi Flatley, APR
  • President’s Award for Distinguished Service: Stefanie Macfarlane, APR
  • President’s Award for Distinguished Service: Jazmyn Reed
  • Frank R. Stansberry Ethics Award: Carolyn Reis, APR
  • Geri Evans, APR, Lifetime Achievement Award: Roger Pynn, APR, CPRC